TW; sexual assault
The Robert Peirce & Associates, P.C. team is here to discuss what sexual assault means in the state of Pennsylvania. Before we jump into details about this subject, we want to give a brief trigger warning to readers as some of the content in this blog may be upsetting or unsettling to sexual assault victims. We hope this blog raises awareness, including the prevention of sexual assault within the Pennsylvania community and more.
According to the Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network (RAINN), sexual assault is defined as “sexual contact or behavior that occurs without explicit consent of the victim.” Sexual assault comes in many forms, including:
- Fondling or unwarranted sexual touching
- Forceful sexual acts
- Attempted rape
In Pennsylvania, statutory sexual assault can result in a second or first-degree felony. According to 18 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 3122.1, a person will receive a second-degree felony if a:
“person engages in sexual intercourse with a complainant to whom the person is not married who is under the age of 16 years and that person is either:”
- Over four years older but less than eight years older than the victim or,
- Eight years older but less than 11 years older than the victim.
A person is charged with a first-degree felony when a person engages in sexual intercourse with a victim under 16 years old, the offender is 11 years older than the victim, and the offender and victim are not married to each other.
Let Us Help You
These times can be challenging, but just know that you have options. Seeking justice may seem overwhelming, but the team at Robert Peirce & Associates, P.C. is here to assist you in making this next step as easy on you as possible. When you’re ready, give us a call at (844) 383-0565 or visit our Contact Us page to get started on a consultation form. We will have one of our attorneys contact you as soon as possible.